English From the English Major

Retox

[ree-TOCKs]

Noun

Verb: retoxing

From ancient Germanic Yetochs, a solstice ritual for shotgunning beer.

Present Day Usage:

The act of polluting one’s body after doing something healthy. This may include drinking beer after yoga class, smoking cigarettes on the last day of a juice cleanse, or eating a pound of fried shrimp after the Korean spa.

Example:

Ursula: I just came from that reiki-ayurveda-smoothie workshop in Silver Lake and I’m starving.  Do you have any whiskey? Or cigarettes? Or frosting?

Sheila: No, but you can snort sugar from these pixie stix while I run to the store and pick up some beer.

Ursula: Thanks girl, I always feel nauseous if I don’t retox after my detox.

Leave a Reply

